Give to CED

Friedman Visiting Professorship

Howard A. Friedman

Howard A. Friedman, FAIA, graduated from UC Berkeley in 1949 (A.B. Architecture). He joined the architecture department in 1966 as a lecturer after building a distinguished private architectural practice in the Bay Area. In 1979 he became a full-time member of the CED faculty while continuing his private practice, and served as chair of the architecture department from 1986 until his death in 1988.

To celebrate Professor Friedman's commitment to the University of California and his contributions to the architectural profession, his wife Phyllis Friedman established the Howard A. Friedman Visiting Professorship in the Practice of Architecture Fund. Since 1991, income from the fund has brought distinguished practitioners of architecture to teach at the College of Environmental Design. Holders of the visiting professorship teach and counsel students and enhance the liaison between the college and the profession.

The visiting professorship intends to advance Professor Friedman's values and philosophy of “humanistic architecture.” Specifically, holders contribute to increased understanding of the building delivery system and its relationship to design, function, technology, time, money, and cultural and social responsibility. The visiting professorship promotes Professor Friedman's belief that architects need to acquire a broad base of knowledge in order to contribute effectively to the construction industry and ensure an ever-improving practice of architecture.

Friedman Visiting Professors

Year Fall Semester Recipient(s) Spring Semester Recipient(s)
2016-17 Frida Escobedo  
2016-17 Andrew Zago and Laura Bouwman Laurel Broughton
2015-16 Mark Smout and Laura Allen  


Mark SmoutMichael Bell

Ray Gastil

Jason Young

Elena Manferdini
2012-2013Edwin ChanMason White

Wes Jones

Eric Kahn

Gary Paige

Benjamin Aranda + Christopher Lasch
2010–2011Francisco PardoAmale Andraos + Dan Wood
2009–2010Stephen CassellGreg Otto
2008–2009Mary Griffin + Eric HaesloopWilliam H. Fain, Jr + Scott Johnson

Kang Kiang

Zoe Prillinger + Luke Ogrydziak

Brett Terpeluk

Margaret Crawford

Kevin Daly


Solano Benitez

Angelo Bucci

Rafael Iglesia

Tim Culvahouse

Hassan-Uddin Khan

Frederik Schmidt


Michael Maltzan

Stephen Shortridge

Robert Swatt

Hitoshi Abe

Mark Dytham + Astrid Klein

Takaharu Tezuka + Yui Tezuka


Fred Dust

Wes Jones

Tom Wiscombe

Eric Bunge + Mimi Hoang

John Frane + Hadrian Predock

Sulan Kolatan + William MacDonald

Marcelo Spina + Peter Zellner

2003-2004Anne Fougeron

Isaac Broid

Sheila Kennedy + Frano Violich

Byron Kuth + Liz Ranieri

Larry Scarpa

2002-2003Brad CloepfilJan Wampler
2001-2002 Marsha Maytum
2000-2001Buzz YudellSarah Graham
1999-2000James CutlerCharles Correa
1998-1999Rob Wellington QuigleyCarlos Jimenez
1997-1998Frances HalsbandSam Mockbee
Year Fall + Spring Semester Recipient(s)
1996-1997 George Homsey
1995-1996 Richard Keating
1994-1995 Allison Williams
1993-1994 Cathy Simon
1992-1993 Don Hisaka
1991-1992 Gyo Obata