Landmark Gleams Again
San Francisco Chronicle
30 April 2013
Photo: Lea Suzuki / The Chronicle
The Hallidie Building, an architectural gem of San Francisco, was completed in 1918. The design paid homage to UC Berkeley: a seven-story wall of glass with its frame painted blue and an elaborate metalwork painted gold. Restoration of the Hallidie Building was recently completed. Shops were removed, repaired, rebuilt, or replaced while the glass as laminated to meet safety requirements, the decorative panels of zinc were strengthened with a coat of fiberglass, and many more upgrades. The team that worked on the project includes architects from McGinnis Chen Associates, CEO/Vice President Ron McGinnis, AIA, LEED, AP (M.Arch '70).