Disc* [Design & Innovation for Sustainable Cities]

Faculty + Guests

Disc* 2022 Faculty

Gabriel Kaprielian | Director

Gabriel Kaprielian is a designer, urbanist, and artist based in the Bay Area. With degrees in both architecture and city planning, his creative work and research focus on resilient cities, sustainable design, emergent technologies, and digital fabrication. His professional experience includes traditional architecture practice with award-winning firms, social focused architecture as a Design Fellow for Architecture for Humanity, urban design in the public sector, and as an Artist-in-Resident at Autodesk’s Pier 9 Workshop in San Francisco. In addition to serving as the Director of DISC in the College of Environmental Design, Gabriel has served as a lecturer at a Cal Poly, California College of the Arts, UC Berkeley, and is currently Assistant Professor of Architecture in the Tyler School of Art at Temple University. Gabriel holds a BArch from Cal Poly in San Luis Obispo, CA, and MArch and MCP from UC Berkeley.


Ghigo DiTommaso | Global Cities / Global Challenges Lecturer

Ghigo DiTommaso was trained as an architect in Florence, where he picked up the tools of the trade while feeding a strong interest in urban history and theory. Licensure in hand, he moved to Barcelona to become part of its thriving design community. There he worked with prominent Catalan architects on numerous award-winning projects while also conducting research at the EtsaB School of Architecture and teaching at the ESDi School of Design. Based in the Bay Area since 2010, he has been a core member of the Rebar Art & Design Studio and more recently of the new San Francisco offices of Gehl Studio, where he continues to practice the profession. At CED, while serving as Program Director of Disc*, he also collaborates with the LAEP department as a lecturer and project researcher. Ghigo holds a BArch and an MArch from the Facoltà di Architettura di Firenze, and an MSArch and PhD from EtsaBarcelona.




Past Speakers

Robert Ogilvie | Oakland Director, SPUR Roman Mars | Radio Host and Podcast Producer, 99% Invisible
Peter Calthorpe | Architect, Planner and Urban Designer, HDR Calthorpe Kristy Wang | Community Planning Policy Director, SPUR
Abigail Thorne-Lyman | Program Manager TOD, BART Karen Chapple | Professor of Regional Planning, UC Berkeley
Bruce Riordan
UC Berkeley Climate Readiness Institute
Allison Arieff
Editorial Director, SPUR
Janette Kim
Co-Director, Urban Works Agency; Assistant Professor of Architecture, CCA
Molly Turner
Lecturer, UC Berkeley Haas School of Business
Charisma Acey
Assistant Professor of City & Regional Planning, UC Berkeley College of Environmental Design
Neeraj Bhatia
Assistant Professor of Architecture, CCA
Victoria Salinas
Chief Resilience Officer, City of Oakland
Antje Steinmuller
Assistant Professor of Architecture, CCA; Principal, Studio URBIS
Matthew Passmore
Founder and Lead Artist, Morelab; founder, Rebar Art & Design Studio
Jeremy Lowe
Senior Environmental Scientist, San Francisco Estuary Institute
Philip Vitale
Project Manager, Bay Area Parks for People Program, Trust for Public Land
Stephanie Kiriakopolos
Research Technician, Romberg Tiburon Center
Jennifer Wolch
William Wurster Dean, UC Berkeley College of Environmental Design
Alison Sant
Urban Designer and Artist, Studio for Urban Projects
Rebecca Johnson
Citizen Science Coordinator
and Researcher
California Academy of Sciences
Robin Grossinger
Senior Scientist
Resilient Landscapes Program Director,
SF Estuary Institute
Amber Hasselbring
Executive Director, Nature in the City
Founder, Art Ecology
Allen Fish
Director, Raptor Observatory
Golden Gate National Parks
Damien Raffa
Education/Volunteer Program
Manager, Presidio Trust
Joel Pomerantz
Dr. Katharyn Boyer
Associate Professor, SF State
Romberg Tiburon Center
Kelley Higgason
NOAA Affiliate
Ocean Climate Initiative Coordinator
Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary
Tae Kim
Founder, Alite Designs

Peter Brastow
Biodiversity Coordinator
SF Department of Environment

Katie McKnight
Environmental Analyst, SFEI

Nate Kauffman
Founder, Live Edge Adaptation Project

Laura Tam
Sustainability Development Policy Director at SPUR
Josiah Cain
Director of Innovation, Sherwood Design Engineers

Will Travis
Former Executive Director, BCDC

Sarah Dean
Assistant Professor, California College of the Arts    

Mark Stacey
Professor of Environmental Engineering, UC Berkeley

Lidia D'Amico
Biologist, AECOM
Amanda Brown-Stevens
Managing Director, Resilient by Design
Susan Swartzenberg | Photographer and visual artist, Exploratorium


  • Mayra Madriz, Urban Planner, Re:Imagine Group
  • Alison Sant, Urban Designer & Artist, Studio for Urban Projects
  • Tyler Pew, Designer & Social Entrepreneur, ILabHaiti, KidMob
  • Glenn Corey, Educator, Novato High School
  • Ben Grant, Urban Planner, SPUR
  • Steve Gennrich, Designer and Engineer, Exploratorium Outdoor Studio
  • Liz Ogbu, Designer, UC Berkeley
  • Nick Polansky, Urban Planner, MIT
  • Allison Lassiter, Researcher, UC Berkeley
  • Dan Parham, Social Entrepreneur, Neighborland.org
  • Louise Mozingo, Chair and Professor of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning, UC Berkeley



request more info button